Presentations: Insight and Humor Abound

Just a few notes on the last day of group presentations:

Corialanus:  Nick’s portrayal of Aufidius, was, well…Saturday Night Live material. The subtle glance, the slightly sarcastic intonation, the deadpan expression, the comedic timing–good stuff. And his favorite “buddy,” Corialanus, pretty funny undertones there. Great supporting cast too.

Measure for Measure:  I loved seeing a movie, and I know they are a lot of work.  Funny trunk business. Half the entertainment was in Roberto’s initial disclaimers, which had me scared, real scared.  I liked the quote of the Sermon on the Mount, didn’t know that was the basis for the play.

Our play–King Henry:  We spent a lot of time writing the script and practicing.  And I still found the play somewhat confusing. Which is why I deferred to Spencer when Dr. Sexson asked me for a summary.  After spending so much time reading the play, watching a movie and rewriting, the entire plot with all its nuances was still not completely clear in my mind. Guess that’s what comes from not having the illumination of a class discussion of the play.  I gained a great appreciation for Falstaff.  He’s a perfect example of SLOTH, in my opinion. And cunning and selfish, but oh, such an exact illustration of human ‘frailty.’  And the father/son redemption theme is always classic. There are references to mythology in this play, but not nearly so many as other plays.  Since it’s a historical play, it had a different tone, but still very funny.

Individual Presentations: I was moved by Ashley’s eloquent portrayal and insight into Cordelia. She’s a girl after my own heart, that character. Takes a lot of courage to be the truth-teller. And often there’s a high price to be paid for telling it like it is.  What I like about Cordelia is that she quietly speaks the truth. She’s not ‘in your face’ with her convictions. She just ‘is.’ In a way, she’s the opposite of Lear who does not know who he is.  Cordelia knows full well. And in a world of falsity, that comes with a price.

Roberto’s Sumarakovian(?) Caliban was intriguing.  Interesting that he mentioned Joyce Carol Oates book on the Brother’s Karamazov. I will have to find that one.

I liked Jennifer’s parallel between Caliban and Poseidon.  Jamie’s Rude Mechanicals Rap was perfect, such great entertainment. Her voice was loud and clear and the lyrics were perfect. And what  a great live beat to rap to…

Tristans’ was entertaining as well, though I couldn’t hear all his words. Perhaps he could post them? Taylor’s 7 deadly sins idea was a good one. Fletcher’s premise that suffering is caused by love, is apt. It is also true that love springs from suffering. I appreciated each presentation as each is as unique as the presenter.

About vosen8

Mom of 5, writer, gardener, student of life. Graduating May--wahoo!!!!!! Then on to Grad school.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment