Eye hath not heard?

Act IV sc. 2 of A Misummers Night Dream sounded very familiar to me. “The eye of man hath not heard, the ear of man hath not seen..” At first I thought Shakespeare had ‘borrowed’ it exactly, but no, he put a twist on it.
In 1 Cor. 2:9 St. Paul exclaims, “Eye hath not seen, nor ear heard…”
Shakespeare has them backwards, intentionally to be sure.
What was W.S. up to here?
I think he was confusing words on purpose to portray the madness of the dream world. It’s where things don’t make sense, but even in their confusion they somehow do. Is bottom top or top bottom? Does the eye hear, the ear see? Sure.
Especially on Midsummers Eve, June 23rd, the longest day and shortest night of the year. Madness and enchantment transform the world, according to the tradition of agrarian festivals. They were parties celebrating the completion of plowing and planting(I know I feel like celebrating when I am finished planting.)
They often took place in the woods(like MSND), where transformation was certain. The Wood, metaphor for trouble, insanity, lunacy. Why then, is that the place for transformation?
Well, I know the things that have changed me most have been troubling circumstances I never would have chosen. And when I am there it feels like being in a dark wood, alone. But when I come out on the other side, I am a better version of myself. Having suffered, I am more compassioniate, having doubted, I understand fear and disillusionment. The woods are there, always. And the only way out is through.
I like the play on words, wooed, as if love is another dark Wood…well…hmmm. And then there’s the ultimate wood, the cross.
I remember being stunned years ago when I came across a scripture that proclaimed, “And God was in the darkness.” I didn’t want it to be true. I wanted God to be only light, only joy and peace. Rude awakening, to realize that life would contain suffering and there would be no escape from that. Except for the knowledge of God’s love.

The rest of Paul’s words—“...nor has it entered into the heart of man, what things God has prepared for those who love Him.” And this echoes Jordano Bruno’s hermetic notion, that eveything boils down to divine love. Methinks it’s true.

About vosen8

Mom of 5, writer, gardener, student of life. Graduating May--wahoo!!!!!! Then on to Grad school.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment