Sonnet

A sonnet’s been milling about in my brain for several moons, so finally, here it is:

Shakespeare’s Pearls

He speaks of pearls as tears and worlds and eyes
Their lustre seeming to reflect one’s pain
A surface smooth and yet the surface lies
The mollusk casts it forth but ‘tis in vain.

Out out! damn grain, your borders cut, quick burn
Cruel edges that persuade me what I am
So nacre issues forth like grace in turn
Allays the piercing shard within the clam.

Layer upon layer soothes the point
Beauty formed in place within the deep
Mounding ‘round the grain it doth anoint
Such sorrows as will make the ages weep.

O eye, and tear and world you are within
The pearl upon the neck where woe has been.

**********************************************

Early on in class I was intrigued with the image of the pearl, noticing how cleverly Shakespeare uses this symbol–small thing, big impact. Pearl has always been one of my favrite stones/gems. I like the look of it, I like the metaphor. So, for my final paper, I am writing about the metaphor of the pearl in his plays. I even found a song about pearls. It’s a country song and believe it or not, it’s verrrry Shakespearean. Hard to believe, I know, but you’ll see…

About vosen8

Mom of 5, writer, gardener, student of life. Graduating May--wahoo!!!!!! Then on to Grad school.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment